Refrigerator Cake

This is a “cake” that my grandmother used to make.  My Uncle requested it this Thanksgiving, he bought the stuff to make it too, so I was happy to make this for him.

First you have to get the cookies.  I’ve seen them in every grocery store I’ve ever been in, but well, they might not be in yours.  See the picture on the front?  That’s what we will do here.  It’s super easy.  Hecka easy dessert here.  Also, tasty.

Also, the recipe is on the back.  Pretty much it’s these cookies, heavy cream, sugar and vanilla.  MMMM, vanilla.

First thing you need to do is put your heavy whipping cream in the coldest part of your fridge.  Then put the beaters and bowl in the freezer for at least an hour.  You need everything as cold as possible before you start.

The next thing you need to do is make sure there is space in you freezer for staging the components of the cake as you are putting it together.  Choose a platter for the cake.  It’s long and skinny and does not bend to conform to the plate.  I used a piece of lumber that was about the right size.  I washed it, covered it in plastic wrap and then covered again in foil.

Next, whip the cream.  Pour the whipping cream into the cold bowl, start to whip it.  Whip it good.  Just don’t whip it too long or you get butter, which is awesome, who doesn’t love butter, right?  But, this recipe needs whipped cream.  So, it should look like the cream below when you are done.

Next, lay out a sheet of parchment paper.  You will need a knife/spatula and start stacking.  Spread a bit of cream on the bottom of each cookie.  Start to stack them together.

Keep spreading and stacking, starting new stacks when about 3 inches tall.

All the stacks!

Now, this is where I learned that you have to chill these for a while  before you try to stack them.  Otherwise they squeeze, like this:

Ooops!

So I chilled them:

After an hour or so, when they are firm, start the assembly.  (Obviously, you will need to rechill the whipped cream.  You will need to rewhip it a bit.)  Here is the first stack, laid on it’s side:

Here they are, all snuggled up:

And now, dump the rest of the whipping cream on it, spread it out and make it pretty.  I crumbled up some of the broken cookies to sprinkle on the top.  Yummy!

* I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla and 1/4 of a cup of confectioners sugar to the cream.  The parchment paper was to keep the foil clean.  Remove it after chilling for 6 hours.  You can also freeze it.

 

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Refrigerator Cake

  1. Emmy says:

    Looking at it raised my blood sugar LOL which is good- I needed it!
    Yummalah!!
    I swear one of these days you will answer the door and I will have my bedraggled self on your stoop with a sign that says “Feed Me” , “Moar Please”

  2. vivianlouise says:

    Emmy, you can come here and I’ll feed you any time.

  3. Charlotte says:

    Greetings from Sunny South Africa

    Imagine my delight when, after traversing the savannah in my tiny Toyota, I made it to the internet café and spotted your new blog.

    Best wishes on its birth, I’m so looking forward to the cornucopia of culinary delights that are sure to follow. Just bought pumpkin seeds for a salad, and couldn’t believe the price. These seeds are supposed to be the next big thing in healthy eating, although it seems I’ll be drying my own in future.

    I agree with Camy, one can never have too much garlic.

    Charlotte
    XO

Leave a Reply

