Nigella’s Gingerbread Stuffing

Or dressing, for people in Texas. 😀

I love this cookbook and use it all the time. I bought it a few years ago and now it’s written in and getting smudgy on some pages.  But that’s okay.  I like to make notes on recipes I like detailing what I liked, what I changed and when I used the recipe.  It helps me to remember.

Her Gingerbread Stuffing is my Christmas Time Crack.  I love this stuff.

I promised a very lovely friend from church that I would post this here.  So, Jean, this is for you.

First you must make gingerbread.  The recipe says to buy some, but I’d rather just get a box mix and make it, it is easy enough.

The nice thing about this recipe is that you don’t have to get the gingerbread out prettily, just start ripping it out of the pan.  Crumble it up.  Go for it.

The recipe doesn’t call for it but I like to dry out the gingerbread a little, so I throw it in the oven for about an hour.  250 degrees, no more.

Then you have to chop the onion and apple, heat the butter and oil in a frying pan, and brown the onion and apple.  I used a food processor to chop the apples, onions and bacon.  Oh yes, a pound and a half of finely chopped bacon goes into this luciousness.  Mmmmm, bacon.  I added 1/2 a pound of maple bacon to the regular bacon for the one I brought to church and that was pretty fantastic.

I switched out the clementines for lemons because I had no clementines and lemons were plenteous.  So into the apple/onion/bacon mix went the zest of two lemons.  I also added a bunch of fresh cranberries for the one I brought to church.  Since I didn’t have any extra cranberries of Thanksgiving Day, I reconstituted dried cranberries with currant vodka and added those.  Yeah, I said vodka.

Put everything into a bowl and make sure it’s mixed up, g-bread cumbs, apple/onion/bacon, zest, pepper and cranberries.  You won’t need salt because of the bacon.

Glisteny.

Add the eggs and more pepper.  Mix well.  Then pour it into a buttered baking pan.  Nigella puts hers into a loaf pan, but because of my enormous family I put it into a cake pan.  It goes farther that way.

I didn’t get a finished picture, sorry.  Maybe at Christmas.

This entry was posted in Holiday Food, Side Dishes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nigella’s Gingerbread Stuffing

  1. Rachel says:

    Are you the one who made this for our Thanksgiving Dinner at church? If so, it was DELICIOUS!

  2. vivianlouise says:

    Yup, that was me. I’m happy you enjoyed it. 😀

Leave a Reply

