Stuffing/Dressing

This is my basic stuffing recipe, I bake it outside of the turkey because the turkey cooks better that way.

As per usual, my cooking style doesn’t follow a specific recipe, it’s more of a method and an acknowledgement of the rest of the menu.  Stuffing is very forgiving but it MUST be seasoned.  You can’t just moisten a bunch of dry bread with stock and call it a day.  That’s just wet, hot bread.  Euw.

For this past Thanksgiving I used prepared dried bread cubes, both already herbed.  Sometimes I’ll used bread I have on hand or if I’m feeling especially energetic, I’ll buy really good bread and prepare it two days before I need it.

Ingredients:

  • 5 cloves of garlic
  • 2 onions
  • 5 stalks celery
  • 1 large bunch flat parsley
  • 2 bags stuffing mix (NOT instant stuffing, NOT stove top.  Just the bags of dried bread cubes.)
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • sage
  • thyme
  • rosemary
  • smoked paprika
  • ground allspice
  • nutmeg
  • caraway seed
  • bacon
  • chicken stock – store bought is totally fine
  • butter

I used the smoked paprika to give the stuffing a roasty flavor.  It worked.

Finely chop the onions, garlic and celery.

Heat a frying pan and melt the butter, I used 1/2 cup.  Add the stuff you just chopped and saute until translucent.

You can see that the butter browned a bit.  That’s very tasty, but if you don’t do that, it’s okay.

Then add the spices and dried herbs:

It’s rather important to fry your spices and dried herbs in oil before adding them to the stuffing.  I learned that from Indian cooking, but doing so takes away the raw flavor that lasts even if you cook your food for a long time.  It makes a diffrence.

Add the rest of the fresh herbs, the parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme in this case.  Also I had some winter savory, so that went in too.

You can see here I’d forgotten to add the celery until this point on T-day.  Doh.  At this point, it smells divine.

Add the sauteed stuff to the dry stuff:

Then add liquid, the chicken stock until it’s sufficiently moist.  I wish I could tell you how much, but that depends on the bread cubes you use, the wetness of the sauteed ingredients, the humidity of the day and your personal preference.  Mine looked like this when I was done:

Then I laid a bunch of bacon on top, covered it in foil and baked it for about an hour.  I baked it on the grill with the ham because there was no room in the oven.

I miss the flavor of the stuffing from inside the turkey.  A lot.  Which is why I make a ton of this:

This entry was posted in Holiday Food, Side Dishes, Thanksgiving and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

