Chiffon Cake

This is another scan from Martha.  (Thank you!)

This entry was posted in Dessert, Grandma Whelan and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chiffon Cake

  1. Camy says:

    I was in the kitchen with grandma Whelan while she was cooking. For pancakes, cakes, or very nearly everything she would whip the egg whites and the cream for every dish, even when it did not call for it. She always had the lightest pancakes, cakes, everything.
    She also added an extra dollop of Crisco to whatever she measured for pie crusts.

    My “trick” with pie crust is to knead it with a towel and never put my hands on it. I have hot hands and could never be a chocolatier. All would melt. This also applies to piecrust.

  2. vivianlouise says:

    I inherited the hot hands thing too. M&M’s melt in my hands.

    I need to try the “whip the egg whites” thing with my pancakes. Darn, I have to make pancakes again! =)

Leave a Reply

