Grandma Whelan’s Fudge

My Grandma Whelan’s fudge is legend.  At least in our family.  She used to make two batches and pack it in her suitcase when she came to visit us.  One visit her luggage went missing at the airport.  It was later returned…fudgeless.

I found this recipe and a number of others when I cleaned out a drawer in the kitchen.

She also made this chocolate-walnut cake for me for my 10th birthday that remains my favorite ever birthday cake.  It was a very simple cake with ground walnuts in the cake itself and on top of the frosting.

Grandma Whelan’s Fudge

  • 5 cups sugar
  • 1 large can evaporated milk
  • 1 dash salt
  • 1 dash cream of tartar
  • 2 cups nuts
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup peanut butter if desired
  • 1 lb hershey bar
  • 2 – 6 oz pkg chocolate bits
  • 8 oz jar marshmallow topping

1. Bring sugar, milk, salt and cream of tartar to a low boil for 4 1/2 min.

2. Break up hershey bar, add choc bits, marshmallow topping, peanut butter and nuts.

3. Pour hot syrup over all.  Mix well.  Pour into greased pans.

*The peanut butter is optional the lady said.  However what I tasted had the peanut butter.

NOTES: That’s how she wrote it out.  I’m sure you can figure out you need to follow the instructions in part 2 by adding everything to a large bowl.  Also, I’d use more dark/bitter chocolate.  I’m older and I like my sweets less sweet.

The scan from my sister Martha:

This entry was posted in Dessert, Family, Holiday Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grandma Whelan’s Fudge

  1. Martha says:

    I’ve just scanned 3 of her recipes, including the fudge. Will send.

  2. Mandy KIng says:

    This and your Peanut butter bars (a favorite in school, never could find recipe before) look SO good. I can’t wait to try out these recipes when I get back from this deployment! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

