Cornish Game Hens

I do swear, I am not ignoring this blog.  It’s a lot more work to document cooking than it is just to cook.

Anywho – Cornish Game Hens.

They are tiny little poultry, tiny little jewels of awesome fowl flavor.

I decided to brine these.  I like the flavor a brine brings to a bird.  This one is standard salt, honey, water, ginger, garlic, parsley, pepper corns, allspice, cloves, lemon, lime – the standard.  Less of everything since these are tiny birds.

This time I decided to try something a little different.

Beer.  Not just any beer, mind you.  Check out the label.

Mmmm, limey beer.  So the hens were steeped longer than I intended.  I put them in the brine on Saturday and meant to cook them that night.  I wasn’t able to cook them until tonight, Monday.

I was in such a rush to get these into the oven and cooking when I got home from work that I forgot to get a picture of what I did.  I spatchcocked them.  I cut the backbone from them and then pressed them flat(ish).  I did not have a brick to press them down, but that’s how I roll, on the fly.

So they baked in a 325 oven on convection for an hour.

The only nod to convention was to tuck the wings under the breast so they didn’t burn.

I served one for each of us, really 1/2 to 2/3 of a bird is plenty, but how do you serve 2/3 of a hen?  I made some red quinoa to go with it.  Nice combination.  I didn’t expect it to be so tasty together, but they were.

The beer added a very pleasant musty-hoppiness to the hens that was unusual.  The lime in the brine and the beer permeated the flesh and lightened the musty-hoppy beer flavor.   Delicious!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cornish Game Hens

  1. Emm says:

    I swear one of these days I am showing up for supper…… just sayin’…… be warned.

  2. Camy says:

    The red quinoa looks bright & happy. I have the white variety and often substitute it for 1/3 of the rice for a mixed grain.

    I also like mixing black thai rice with jasmine for red rice.

    Sounds like a yummy meal with the cornish hens.

Leave a Reply

