Pizza – Fig, Chevre & Bacon

This pizza is dedicated to Kathy.  She knows why. 😀

This pizza is also dedicated to Armandino Batali.  He doesn’t know me, but I know him.  Or, at least, I’ve eaten his prosciutto in a sandwich when I visited Seattle a couple years ago.  I insisted on going to visit Salumi, his shop in Founder’s Square.  That sandwich lived at the edges of my memory for awhile until I decided to make this pizza.

So, here are the ingredients:

I bought the pizza crust because I wasn’t in the mood to make it from scratch and Trader Joe’s makes a great pizza dough.  I also bought the pancetta already cubed because it’s totally convenient to do so.  The fig jam was harder to track down, I finally picked it up at MOM’s.

Heat the oven to 425.  Oil the pan.  The directions on the package said to use flour and roll out the dough.  NOT what I did.  I oiled my hands, stretched the dough a bit, fit it to the pan and viola:

I keep stretching it right up until I put the fig jam on it.

I like to crisp up the pancetta a bit before I put it on the pizza.  It renders out some of the fat but also means no undercooked bits of bacon.  Mostly, it just makes the pancetta crispy.

So, you spread a thinish layer of fig jam on the bottom, spread the crispified pancetta evenly and break up bits of the goat cheese over the top.  You will have this:

Bake it for 15 to 20 minutes, depending on how hot your oven is.  It becomes this:

It’s ready for it’s close-up, Mr. Demille:

This entry was posted in Main Dishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pizza – Fig, Chevre & Bacon

  1. Rachel says:

    THAT looks so incredibly good! I think I’m going to have to make this myself.

Leave a Reply

