Cook the Book – Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day

My new project is to bake bread at home.  Easily.  I read a review of Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day on Al Dente a couple of years ago.  I bought the book but never had time or the container to make the bread.  Jeff Hertzberg and Zoe Francois developed the recipe and wrote this book and the follow on, Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day.

The other day I was in Bed, Bath and Beyond and saw the container I thought would do the job.  More on that later.  This morning I cracked out the container, the book and ingredients to start my plan to dominate the world with awesome bread.  Well, part of my plan for world domination.

Here are the players in this little drama:

The container, the book, yeast, salt, water, flour.

Here is the water, salt & yeast getting fresh:

Then, I added the flour and beat it up.  That’s how I roll.

Then you let it rise for a while.  Here it is after 40 minutes:

And then in two hours it was like this:

Now, I’m waiting for it to fall, then I’ll throw it in the fridge.  Tomorrow – I bake bread!

YAY!!!

I’m going to haphazardly bake my way through this book.  Axe me questions if you got em.

This entry was posted in bread, Cookbooks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cook the Book – Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day

  1. Pingback: Bake The Book – Rye Bread | The Kitchens of Glome

Leave a Reply

