Bake the Book: Artisanal Bread in 5 – First Loaf

Okay, it’s official – this recipe/method worked for me.  Even better, I’ve got everything I need to do this all the time.  I unearthed the stone, and Dad picked up the peel and the oven thermometer.

The title doesn’t lie, I really was able to bake a loaf of fresh bread this morning with less than five minutes of effort.   Really.

Here is the finished loaf.

I didn’t have to do ANY kneeding.  Just look at that bread.  I really made it!  It was a tiny loaf and it’s gone now.  Dad ate half and I ate the other – it was about two pieces per person.

Here is the interior.

The book says that the flavor matures as the dough ages.  I’ll let you know.  I’m totally tempted to make another loaf today.  It’s easy and actually pretty fun.

This entry was posted in bread, Cookbooks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

