Pots de Creme – Betty Crocker

I’ve inherited the current use of my Mom’s 1969 version of the Betty Crocker cookbook.  I’ll be posting some more recipes from it shortly, like my sister’s winning Banana Cake.  Mmmmm.  Pure Betty Crocker.

This cookbook also has recipes for aspic.  It’s old school.

The recipe for pots de creme is easy, simple and totally wonderful.  I made it most recently for the Fixes when their new daughter was born.

The Recipe

I’d love to buy a new used book, this one is falling apart.  I found some for $150.  Are you kidding me?

Pre-melty chocolate, cream & sugar

Melty

I like using bittersweet chocolate for this because I don’t like overly sweet desserts, especially sweet chocolate.

Now, the eggs need to be separated then tempered.

Golden Globes of Awesome

Tempered Yolks & Vanilla

So, I poured a bit of the melted chocolate mixture into the egg yolks and added the vanilla.  Because this was being served to a nursing mom I made sure to cook the mixture longer to be TOTALLY sure there was no salmonella.  That meant that I didn’t get any pictures because I had to stir the whole time to keep the mixture from turning into scrambled chocolate yolks.  NOT yummy.

It is easiest to pour the chocolate into a 2 cup measuring glass and then into the little dishes.

When I was done, I had a thought…

Makes Everything Taste Better

Oh yes, dark chocolate with a touch of salt.

Pots de Creme ala Betty Crocker 1969

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pots de Creme – Betty Crocker

  1. Penny Henderson says:

    You don’t really want a new used book–its the falling apart aspect that makes it so precious (apart from the recipes) I have my mom’s 1942 Woman’s Home Companion Cook Book, and it has her spills and finger prints all over it. I found a 1944 (?) version to buy Amy, so she wouldn’t steal mine like I stole my mother’s.

  2. vivianlouise says:

    I need to go search for some copies for my siblings. I really don’t want a new one. But everyone has memories. I also need to find copies of the Pepperidge Farm Cookbook.

  3. Patsy Darichuk says:

    I was given a Betty Crocker Cookbook when I got married in 1966. About ten years ago, it was totally falling apart. I used it to death. But I still have the pieces.

    I love your beautiful flowers and vegetables.

  4. Rachel says:

    I can attest — these are FABULOUS!

  5. Elaine Squeri, Arlington says:

    I HAD LOST MY COPY OF BC’S POTS DE CREME WHICH I HAD USED FOR DECADES. COMPANY IS COMING TOMORROW! AFTER BEING STARTLED AT OTHER VERSIONS OF THE RECIPE WITH HEAVY CREAM, MILK, MORE THEN 5 EGG YOLKS, I TYPED SIMPLY “BETTY CROCKER POTS DE CREME” AND THERE YOU WERE! THANKS SO MUCH!

Leave a Reply

