Chef Symon Did This To Me

Last night I was watching Iron Chef America with Chef Michael Symon.  He’s just so fun to watch.  I refuse to watch Bobby Flay and I’m not fond of Cat Cora.  I haven’t seen the new guy, Batali is gone and Morimoto isn’t on enough.

So, Chef Symon is battling some other guy, and they do the battle alone, no sous chefs, blahblahblah.  What got my attention was the cauliflower sauce Chef Symon made to go with something else cauliflowery.  I don’t even know what.  The thought of making a sauce out of cauliflower kinda of caught my imagination.  I’ve made mashed cauliflower before and enjoyed it.  I just thought that cauliflower dip would be interesting.

So, I bought a cauliflower this afternoon, some greek yogurt and got on with it.  And let me tell you – OMG.

Start by cutting up the c-flower into small chunks, then steam it until soft.  This is crucial – if it isn’t soft it won’t smooth out in a standard blender.  If you have a Bass-o-matic, then by all means, go for it.  But if you are like me and only have a standard, regular blender, then make sure it’s soft.  About 20 minutes.

Then throw it into a blender.  I added some stuff and blitzed the heck out of it until it looked like the stuff at right.  We started out dipping fresh pea pods into it.  Then we used it as a salad dressing.  Oh my lanta.  This stuff is really tasty.  It’s a kind of light green and is tangy and refreshing.  Excellent.  I actually can’t wait to try it with chips, I want to see if it’s as good on them as it is on the peas.  It was extraordinary on the peas.

Cauliflower Dip & Dressing

  • 1/2 large cauliflower, chopped
  • 4 tablespoons good extra virgin olive oil
  • juice of one lime
  • juice of one lemon
  • 1/4 of a small log of fresh goat cheese.
  • 1/2 cup non-fat greek yogurt*
  • 2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
  • Fresh dill – enough to fill your palm unchopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon powdered garlic**
  • salt to taste
  1. Steam the cauliflower to soft.
  2. While the cauliflower is still hot, add it and the rest of the ingredients to your blender.
  3. Let it whiz until smooth.  Adjust salt.

Like I said, this is Chef Michael Symon’s fault.  The man should not do things that make me think about smooth cauliflower.

*That’s what I had.  I like the texture of greek yogurt.  I didn’t intend on getting the non-fat – the store didn’t have any other.

** If you want more bite, throw a raw, peeled clove of garlic in there instead of the powder.  I wasn’t so much about the bite.  I was thinking of steaming some cloves in with the cauliflower to take away the bite but still have the fresh garlic taste.  Next time.

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Side Dishes, Why I Do This and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

