Lemon Olive Oil Cake

During a conversation with Jencha, I started thinking about muffin flavors and cake flavors.  Not randomly, we were discussing that very subject.  I’d been interested in the flavor of olive oil since seeing an Olive Oil and Honey Ice Cream on the menu at the restaurant at the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston, which I visited with Jencha, btw.

So, I came home with some fresh lemons and began my search for a recipe.  The one I chose from Serious Eats posts on Olives and Oranges by Sarah Jenkins and Mindy Fox.

The cake is moist and fragrant.  I do recommend waiting to eat it until it is completely cooled.  Otherwise you get too much olive oil flavor and not enough lemon.  It’s a very lovely cake, easy to make.  Really, if you follow the directions, you can’t make a bad cake.

I liked the bits of lemon zest in the cake, it added a pleasant texture.

This entry was posted in Cookbooks, Dessert and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment