Pumpkin Ravioli with Bacon Lemon Sauce

I’m a pumpkin girl.  I love pumpkin.  I want to marry it.

So I’m at MOM’s and what appears before me in a vision of orangey awesomeness?  Yeah, a package of fresh pumpkin ravioli.

Excuse me while I drool afresh.

I buy said pumpkin ravioli and begin plotting.

Bacon, lemon, cream, pepper, sherry.  Oh yes, booze.

I get home and realize that I do not have any more heavy cream and I can’t use half and half because of the sherry AND lemon in the sauce I’m planning.  Anything other than heavy cream will curdle.  So I settle on an egg yolk and butter.

Don’t judge.

The recipe as I remember it through the haze of post pumpkin ravioli happy:

  • 1 package of pumpkin ravioli
  • 4 slices bacon
  • shallot chopped small*
  • 1/2 cup sherry
  • 1/2 chicken stock
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • pepper
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 3 tbs butter
  • 1 egg yolk
  • fork
  • plate

So you slice up the bacon really thin and cook it to crispy over medium, pour it off on to a paper towel to drain.  Drain off nearly all the bacon grease, toss in the shallot and fry till beginning to brown.  Once the shallots are done add the sherry to deglaze the pan, add the chicken stock and reduce by 2/3.

This is the point you add the ravioli to the water you’ve been boiling.  I didn’t salt the water because the bacon has enough salt, you won’t need more.

Turn down the sauce to med-low.  You want the sauce to cool off a bit.  Add the lemon juice and whisk.

When the ravioli is done, drain it and set it aside, your sauce is almost done.

This is what it looks like after reducing by 2/3.

Add the butter one tablespoon at a time, whisking all the while.  When you are done, temper the egg yolk with a little bit of the sauce, then drizzle the egg yolk into the sauce while whisking.  If you don’t whisk while adding the egg yolk you will get scrambled lemon runny nastiness.

This is after you’ve whisked the egg yolk in and allowed it to thicken the sauce.  You can keep the bacon in the sauce from the beginning, after you drain off all the grease, but I like it to stay crispy so I keep it in reserve until just before I add the ravioli.

I didn’t have a shallot when I made this, and I missed the shalloty flavor, BUT I would not use garlic or regular onions in this dish.  Totally wrong flavor for the sauce and the pumpkin.

This entry was posted in Main Dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pumpkin Ravioli with Bacon Lemon Sauce

  1. Lynn says:

    Be still my beating heart…
    I live 2 min from MOMS!!! How soon can I get there?!?

Leave a Reply

