Pumpkin & Fig Soup

I am something of a pumpkin whore.  I love pumpkin, though I confess that I like savory pumpkin much more than sweet pumpkin.

Though, now I think about it, I do wonder why, exactly, Pop Tarts doesn’t have a Holiday Pumpkin Pop Tart.  Seriously, WTF?  Do I need to spell it out for them that introducing a pumpkin pop-tart for the Thanksgiving/Christmas season the year that the last of the Harry Potter movies hits theaters would be a very profound “cha-CHING” moment.

Also, I want credit for the idea.  Just saying.

So, yesterday I had figs and hunks of raw and already peeled pumpkin staring at me with those “come hither and soupify” me look.  I obliged.

I didn’t take any pictures of the bit I did yesterday, so I will ‘splain.

Part One – Prepping the Pumpkin and Fig

  • Pre-heat oven to 325.
  • Put 2 cups of raw pumpkin on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet, sprinkly with a little bit of olive oil, enough to coat.
  • Bake until the edges are browned and roasty.
  • Remove from the oven and put the pumpkin in a sauce pan over medium-low heat.  Add 1/4 cup white wine (I like Viognier) and enough chicken stock to cover.
  • Slice  fresh figs in half, add to sauce pan.
  • add 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground allspice.  I have a little pepper grinder I keep allspice berries in because I like their flavor.
  • Add 1 tablespoon honey
  • Simmer for at least an hour on low.  Everything should get mushy.
  • Remove from heat, cool and refrigerate.
  • (I don’t know if this makes it better, it’s just what I did.)

Part Two – The Souping

  • Take the pumpkin/fig mixture out of the refrigerator and let it come to room temp.
  • Chop 1 shallot fine.
  • Chop 1/2 cup pine nuts fine
  • Slice 3 rashers of bacon into little sticks.  See how thin they are in the picture below?  Like that.
  • Heat a medium sauce pan to medium, maybe a little on the hotter side of medium.
  • Saute the bacon until crispy.
  • Scoop out the bacon with a slotted spoon then pour off the grease into a bowl.
  • Add a little bit of white wine to deglaze all that bacony goodness from the bottom of the pan.  Pour that onto the bacon.
  • Add a tablespoon of butter and a tablespoon of bacon grease to the sauce pan.
  • Throw the shallots and pine nuts in there – saute them until translucent.  The shallots not the pine nuts. 
  • While you are doing all of that, you will want to put the pumpkin-fig mixture into the blender and blitz that stuff until it’s smooth as baby food.  You might need to add some chicken stock to make that happen.  It should look like the picture.
  • Then when the shallots and pinenuts are smelling super wonderful, add the bacon and the pumpkin.  Add more wine and chicken stock to you favorite thickness.  Crack some fresh pepper into that mix and some salt.  Let it simmer on low for a while.  You want to tone down the wine so let it cook for a while.  Like 20 minutes.  But on low otherwise it will boil over and make a very foul smelling mess.
  • Not that I have personal experience with creating foul smelling messes in the kitchen because I walked away from something that was on too high.  Yeah, not that.
  • Now, here is where magic happens.  No,really.  Go grab some heavy cream.  Yes, it must be heavy cream.  Otherwise the wine will cause any other dairy to go all cottage cheesey and it will whey out all up in your soup and be nasty.  So, just get the heavy cream.  Like this:

Look at that.  It was on the top of the cream.  It’s not spoiled, it’s super heavy cream.  If I shake this stuff up I’ll get butter, so I stir in this layer of super heavy cream.  Except for that bit, I licked that off the knife and got a new knife to stir the cream with.  Sue me.

  • Add heavy cream over low heat, about 1/4 to 1/2 cup.  Let it remain on the heat for 5 minutes.
  • Serve this hot.
  • Oh. My. Lanta.

This is the bottle of heavy cream I purchased from Whole Foods.  It’s really wonderfully fresh tasting.

This entry was posted in Soup and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pumpkin & Fig Soup

  1. Lynn says:

    Are you kidding me?!? That looks divine. Wow. Can anything with heavy cream and bacon ever NOT taste amazing? I think not.

  2. Karak says:

    I plant to make this but need to know hw many figs to use 🙂
    Thanks!
    K

  3. vivianlouise says:

    Sure, I used a pack of figs, I think they were small ones, so about 6.

Leave a Reply

