Hurricane Causa

My nephew Dirk will be heading out for Navy boot camp in a few days.  YAY! Dirk!

His brother planned a lovely party.  And then it became a going away/hurricane party.  We ended up not going because Dad. Don’t ask.

Anyway, I’d made Causa for the party and ended up having it for the next few days here.  It’s a yummy delicious Peruvian potato thing. It is usually layered with canned tuna, mayonnaise, olives, tomatoes, eggs and sliced avocados. Cold mashed potatoes.  Really.  And they are amazing good.

Yeah, well.  NO.  I do not like the tuna or the mayo.  The olives are okay, but really, I think it just needs a nice guacamole and maybe boiled eggs and tomatoes.  So, since I am partially Peruvian, I changed it.

Here is my version of Causa.  The potatoes are exactly as my Peruvian cousin, Yolanda, taught me only a wee bit spicier because I like it that way.

Ingredients

  1. 5 pounds of potatoes – yellow, even more betterer if you can find the Peruvian yellow potatoes, but you don’t have to go that far.  Yellow potatoes are non-negotiable.
  2. 1 jar of aji amarillo paste.  you can find this at any Latin grocery store.
  3. 5 limes
  4. Oil – I used olive oil because that’s what I had. You can use vegetable oil or anything really.
  5. Salt – you will need more than you imagine.  But not tons.

Peel and cut the potatoes into chunks that are all about the same size.  Boil them until they are fork tender. Drain.

Rice the potatoes while they are hot. Mashing them will not produce the smoothness you need.  Get a ricer and rice them.  Do this into a big bowl.

Add in about 1/2 the jar of aji amarillo, 2 tablespoons of salt and 1/2 cup oil.  Mix.  Juice the limes into a bowl, add half the lime juice.

Now, taste the potatoes.  You should have an idea of what they should taste like when you taste them at this stage.  These potatoes should taste really bright, limey and spicy. They should be a bright yellow.  They will also need to be more the texture of stiff hot mashed potatoes rather than cold mashed potatoes.  If that makes sense.  You’ll see.

Adjust the potatoes to your preferences.  You’ll need to add more oil to make the potatoes the right texture. I like to add lime juice to the nearly empty jar of pepper paste so  I can get all the paste into the potatoes.

For my potatoes I used 1 full jar of aji amarillo, 5 limes and 1 cup of oil, I can’t tell you how much salt, but I’d say at least 2 tablespoons.  Remember, this is served cold, so the flavors need to be strong.  Hot these potatoes taste differently than when they are chilled.

I made a smooth garlicky guacamole for the center.

So in a glass dish I layered potatoes/guacamole/potatoes.  If I was going to dress it up, I’d have put chopped cilantro, eggs and green onions on top.

Note: this recipe is more of a suggestion than a recipe.  That’s because I’ve altered it to my tastes.  I’ve made this and served it hot next to roasted lemon chicken.  OMG.  So delicious.

Note #2: Aji Amarillo.  This stuff is pure gold.  It is simply delicious.  I’ve used it in white bean dip. I make these potatoes. There is another recipe coming for a potato sauce that is outrageously tasty coming for this.  OMG. Go find it, use it, thank me later.

This entry was posted in Side Dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

